Calling all Entomologists (really!): need help identifying insect

What is this gorgeous creature?  The only place I could think of to start was Google Images, and the closest I came was one called the “Emerald Ash Borer”, but know this is not it.  They’re amazingly fun to watch (I’m entertained quite easily); instead of flying away at the sight of movement or something big, or something black (camera and lens looks like a crow?), they’re quite adept at playing hide ‘n seek by scurrying around to the opposite side or under the leaf (similar to crabs running sideways in the sand).  When I move my hand close to them, they just skittle to from the top of leaf to underneath and back again; or circle around the trunk of this house plant.  In fact, I can’t get them to fly away!  So, I hope it truly isn’t a borer; while I like watching them, I like my plant too.

All of these photos were taken with my Canon 30D and a 100mm Macro lens.  Anywhere from 3 to 7 shots were used for each scene and then “stacked” in order to keep the little bugger in focus from all angles.

About Laurie Merritt Photography

Owner: Laurie Merritt Photography
This entry was posted in Creative, Macro Photography, Nature, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Calling all Entomologists (really!): need help identifying insect

  1. e-mail your local Ag. Extension office along with the photo, somebody there should be able to tell you something.

Leave a Reply

